Yotopia - Connect The Dots

Label: Iboga Records
Format: CD, Album
Country: Denmark
Release Date: Mar 2009
Genre: Electronic
Style: Tech House, Minimal, Progressive Trance

    Track List:
  1. Spunk
  2. Sheer Mayhem
  3. Sleepless Hippies
  4. Offset (Extended Mix)
  5. Mr. Brotherman
  6. Game On
  7. In My Hands
  8. Monitor
  9. No Way Out

Iboga kitchen is releasing again one of its big specialties. The mania of balloon basslines and kicks, with following crackling elements and ups like sprays, didn’t pass on this progressive trance band. This production revolution is spreading from project to project; however, artists are implementing things in their music in a different way. Yotopia is one of those projects that created something great out of those new waves. Not very minimal nor much away from the progressive style of trance associated with Yotopia in the past. They only mixed pretty and useful new elements and in an extraordinary professional way came close to presenting us with something new. I usually don’t like it when an artist crosses over to another genre and without accumulating experience and recognition, tries to “make it” there. But this is not the case here. On this album, the music is very carefully classified. It’s like clubbish dialect of open air moments. The arrangement of the tracks is very well done so the listeners would enjoy the whole track and at the same time DJs could find it easy to use them. One thing DJs would have to pay attention to, is choosing what they mix with Yotopia. It’ll have to have extraordinary good production, because tracks from Yotopia's album simply explode with crystal clear production! I am truly satisfied with Iboga’s decision on releasing this album. The match of artist and label here is perfect.

Recommendation: Basically I would recommend this album without choosing out any tracks as favorites, but my heart says, if anyone is interested, that I’ll start this album with track number 8-Monitor. Feel free to enjoy!!!


Polaris - Deep The Drum

Label: Neurobiotic Records
Format: CD, Album
Country: Italy
Release Date: Oct 2008
Genre: Electronic
Style: Psy-Trance

    Track List:
  1. Stepping Up The Sound
  2. 2 Da Rec
  3. The Realm (with Zen MEchanics)
  4. Preacher
  5. Beat the Drum
  6. Bamboo Forest - Andromeda (Polaris Remix)
  7. Hypnotizing (with Voyager)
  8. Ma.Gi.C
  9. Calypso (with Voyager)
  10. The Bass Kick

Progressive music used to have a sound like this once, back in 2005, which was my favorite of this style. Polaris is a very successful project, especially these days, with many bookings and releases and very good music. I’m very happy with this release, because Polaris holds a real progressive trance groove, as it should be. Polaris does that without mixing any of the new techno elements with minimalist colors on it. It’s not that I don't like these, but here we are talking about real progressive trance music, which is what this album actually is. The name fits totally with the concept of the tracks on the album. There are so many deep elements in atmosphere and groove here. The pads and leads are pure morning treasure and make this composition extraordinary. The biggest impression was left on me by the collaboration with excellent artists such as Zen Mechanics, Voyager & Bamboo Forest. These sure add an extra flavor here.

I should also mention the great vocal in The Realm, which takes me about 10 years back in time and brings back memories with the sample "Hot like the sun and wet like the rain". It’s taken from C’hantell’s The Realm. I really liked one of the mixes of this track when I was younger. Sometimes, memories can decide which track would be your favorite on an album. Besides classic progressive beat, Polaris also bring us a bit faster and harder tracks, but still keeps the progressive groove, even if there’s a rolling bassline oscillation. I totally like it. Focusing on the melodies and background effects in the tracks shows that this guy takes his job so seriously. I can hear many projects with exactly the same lines and melodies in tracks, and this is not case on this release at all. No matter that software today gives anyone thousands and thousands of samples, loops and templates served on a plate, its easy to notice what sounds serious and what sounds like packing lines with finished material downloaded free from internet.

I used to like this kind of progressive trance music but with time it almost disappeared. This album brings that old feeling, which I used to feel 4-5 years ago. I just hope that I will have an opportunity to hear Polaris on some of festivals this summer. Till then I will enjoy this CD for sure!!!

Recommendation: All in all, this release deserves to get huge attention from trance listeners all over the globe. It has a lot of different elements in one package, great production and sound work, and really DJ & dancefloor friendly tracks.
Favorite tracks: 1, 3, 4, 8.